Yesterday sucked, today is good

You may have noticed that I have not posted anything about my hybrid motor bike “icarus” lately. The reason is, for the last 5 months I have been patiently waiting for the custom camshaft to arrive. Out of respect (for now) I will not mention the company’s name, but suffice to say it arrived yesterday and it is incorrect. Mind you this is the second cam designer I have dealt with. The first one just stopped returning my emails. Man I must be more of a jerk than I give myself credit for! Fuck it- I have finally decided to do what I should have done in the first place- make it myself. Now I have embarked on many ambitious projects, but a camshaft? This should be good. Lets see… has to open valves…has to do so at precise times….has to be made of hardened tool steel…has to be perfectly true…has to be degree’d with a drive gear… spins at blazing speed in a tumultuous, hot, vibrating environment under extreme load… should be easy. Oh yeah, I will make it with hand tools.

Anyway, here is a pic of what I got after 5 months compared to a regular evo cam (“custom” cam on left). Notice anything different? me either. How this would operate a v twin with two Continental heads (similar to two rear harley heads, port wise) is beyond me.

My wrist is healing up, sun is out, shop is clean- today will be a good day! Stay tuned!

5 responses to “Yesterday sucked, today is good

  • Ron

    Did you measure this, is there actually any difference? This kind of thing actually really pisses me off. Shitty attitude and poor service just ends up pushing customers to foreign manufacturers, and then people complain about it… Good luck, really interested to see what you build.

    • lockbaker

      I know! people complain that our economy sucks, then do biz like this… yeah the lobes are different than stock…I will double check them to make sure he got lift right for my non-harley rocker arms. If so, then at least I can copy the lobe profiles.

  • leo

    Fucking a man that is wack…I would be getting a refund. I guess you should have just started work on the cam that day we first talked about making one…you would have had 50 by now.

  • trusty

    Leo is right, I have no doubts you guys could bang it out. Unfortunately shitty service like those guys gave you is common now-a-days.But no sweat because what you guys make will probably be better anyway!

    -T

Leave a Reply

