Efab in house casting!

In the past, my cast parts were cast by an outside contractor. We would carve the wax positives and send them out. Now we are moving into the actual casting process here at the shop. In these pics I am doing “sand casting”, where a Styrofoam positive is buried in sand and the molten metal is poured into it. I am using a pottery kiln to heat the aluminum to 1400 degrees. Then it is carefully removed from the kiln and poured. It is a dangerous process lifting the red hot crucible out of the kiln and pouring it. I have to wear my leather riding outfit to protect me from the heat! check the pics…

3 responses to “Efab in house casting!

Leave a Reply

